Breaking News
  • News for March 8
  • Weekly news for Feb. 28
  • ‘Lifeline’ Review
  • Weekly news for Feb. 14
  • Highlanders Weigh In On Trump Ban
  • Valentine’s Day Around the Corner

“1989” Review

0 comments, 07/11/2014, by , in At-a-glance, Entertainment

Taylor Swift scores big with a new memorable album. Her fifth album, “1989,” which is the year Swift was born, dropped on Oct. 27. Sales have been through the roof, selling 1.287 million copies in the first week.

Swift took a step out of her comfort zone by releasing her first album that wasn’t at all country, and it paid off. Swift’s new songs are upbeat and infectious with masterfully crafted lyrics like “’cause darling I’m a nightmare dressed as a daydream” and “In silent screams, and wildest dreams, I never dreamed of this.”

This new album is filled with positive messages. The song “Shake It Off” is about being yourself in the face of adversity as exemplified by the lyrics, “the haters gonna hate (hate hate hate hate), but I’m just gonna shake (shake shake shake shake).” And the song “Welcome to New York” Swift wrote in response to the legalization of same sex marriage in New York has great lyrics like “you can want who you want, boys and boys and girls and girls.”

Great message, sound, and lyrics, “1989” has it all, which is why it receives a five out of five star rating. It is available on iTunes for $12.99 and at Target for $13.99.

By Sienna Mata

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.